Error! You don't have permissions to access the resource

I used Auth0 free plan for a hobby project, about six months ago. I am trying to spin it back up now, and running into trouble. I can log in to the Auth0 dashboard, and I can see my Tenant, but I cannot see any applications. Instead, I just see the error message “Error! You don’t have permissions to access the resource”

If I try to create a new application, I get the same error. What can I do to recover my application?

Thank you in advance for your help

Hi @dwehttam,

Welcome to the Auth0 Community!

Please send a DM ( Direct Message ) to @support group including your email account and the tenant name and we will provide further assistance.

Best regards,
Remus

Hi @dwehttam,

I understand that you are receiving the error - “Error! You don’t have permissions to access the resource” when trying to access resources within your tenant. This error strongly suggest that your tenant has been marked for deletion.

The identified tenant has been inactive for a period exceeding three months. This includes admin logins to the Auth0 dashboard, as well as usage activity through logins or API calls on the tenant. When a tenant on a free plan is inactive for an extended period of time, alerts may be sent about the inactivity. Tenants that remain inactive for a continuous period of 150 days are scheduled for deletion, and once deleted through this process cannot be recovered.

To prevent a tenant from being deleted, perform one of the following actions:

  • Perform an admin login to the Auth0 dashboard;
  • Maintain usage activity through logins or API calls on the tenant.

If your tenant is no longer accessible, new tenants can be created at auth0.com/signup.

  • Create a new tenant — Note that each account is limited to one free tenant at a time. It may take several days for the previous tenant to be fully deleted before a new one can be created;
  • Use a different account — You can sign in with a new email address, or use your existing email with a different authentication method (Social method such as Google or Github), to create a new tenant immediately.

Please be aware that the previous tenant name cannot be reused.

This is in accordance with our official KB Article - Auth0 Tenant Deletion Due to Inactivity.

Hope this helped!
Best regards,
Remus