Wordpress Install version 5

Hi - I’ve tried installing the auth0 plugin version 5.2.0 using Composer. When trying to activate the plugin, I receive a fatal error, 'Error: Class “Auth0\WordPress\Plugin” not found in [REDACTED]/wp-content/plugins/wordpress/wpAuth0.php. Is this a known issue or did I install it incorrectly?

Hi @markramos83 :wave:

There’s no such known issue — could you step me through your install process?

The error indicates that your Composer installation isn’t able to autoload the namespace, which sounds like a configuration issue with the host/site setup.

1 Like

Thanks evansims; I’m brand new to using Composer for installing plugins so I figured it was user error. I initialized Composer, and after adding the composer/installers package, I ran this command:

composer require symfony/http-client nyholm/psr7 auth0/wordpress:^5.0

My composer.json file now contains:

"require": {
        "composer/installers": "~1.0",
        "symfony/http-client": "^7.0",
        "nyholm/psr7": "^1.8",
        "auth0/wordpress": "^5.0"
    },

And the plugin is now visible in my WP dashboard. But when I click to Activate it, I get that fatal error.

1 Like

No worries @markramos83, we’ll get ya up and running!

Some essentials, just to cover our bases:

1. What type of WordPress install do you have? Standard (or Multisite?), or are you using a variant like Bedrock?
  2. What version of PHP, Composer, and WordPress are you running?

In regards to your install steps:

1. Where did you run the composer require command? Depending on your install type, this might need to be adjusted.
  2. Can you check inside your /wp-content/plugins/wordpress folder and let me know if there is a ‘vendor’ subfolder in there?
1 Like
  1. Standard, not using any variant or Bedrock.
  2. PHP 8.2, Composer 2.7.6, WordPress 6.5.3
  3. I ran this from the wp-content/plugins folder
  4. There is not a vendor subfolder here. Upon install, a vendor folder was added to /wp-content/plugins/