How to authenticate two applications (Wordpress and Angular) with one login

Hello,
I’m trying to configure one login via wordpress plugin and open Angular app after successful login. The Angular app should be also authenticated so it can talk to our custom python backend. So Angular app should probably get token from Wordpress on redirection. The apps are on separate Apache virtual hosts:

I’ve tried to use auth0_user_login by passing the tokens from within the hook via URL to Angular app but then the “auth0.parseHash” returns invalid_token - state does not match. What seems to be logical cause auth0 Angular sdk hadn’t initiated the flow in a first place.

So can i use the token in any way? If so how to let auth0 sdk know about the token?

Hi @lukaszkorona,

I’m not an expert on the development side of things, but if both of your applications are Auth0-enabled and they point to the same tenant, I don’t believe there is any need to pass information between your apps. If the user logs in via www.th.com, they should be able to access app.th.com via single sign-on, assuming you have set up access control to allow that.

Are you using Universal Login?

Hi @markd,
I’m currently not using Universal Login. I could easily turn it on in Wordpress. I’m still not sure how should i let my Angular app (browser) know that that user had successfully logged in.

Both apps are pointing to the same tenant but they are on different virtual hosts (Apache). My understanding is that there are only two ways for browser to authenticate. Either via cookie or a token. Because i’m not in control of Wordpress cookies i thought passing a token via URL would be an idea.

I’m currently not using Universal Login. I could easily turn it on in Wordpress.

SSO works whether that option is on or not. In the near future, it will be required for the plugin if you’re doing SSO but, for not, it is not.

Both apps are pointing to the same tenant but they are on different virtual hosts (Apache).