Dev/staging tenants and subscription limits

Hello. I am trying to understand how Dev/Staging tenants interact with B2B Essentials/Professional subscription limits.

I’ve read this post written by @rueben.tiow:

But this seems potentially outdated now that B2B Essentials/Professional subscriptions have an explicit number of “Dev/Staging” tenants included as part of the plan per Pricing - Auth0.

And it looks like you can now link multiple tenants to a single “team” and share your subscription with Dev/Staging/Prod tenants.

However, this comes with a huge caveat because each tenant in a team appears to count toward the limits of one subscription.

So, for example, let’s say I have a B2B Professional subscription and I associate that with my team. And let’s say I have a Production tenant and a Staging tenant which I want to be keep as identical as possible.

I have 6 Actions in my Production tenant. If I create those same Actions in my Staging tenant, now I have 12 total Actions for the team. And this exceeds the limits of my B2B Professional subscription.

So effectively the new approach to tenants seems like it is lowering my effective limits. Am I understanding this correctly?

Or maybe put another way, with the introduction of teams and linking subscriptions to multiple tenants, am I still able to operate with non-linked Staging and Production tenants? Each having its own dedicated per-tenant subscription and limits? That way my identical Staging and Production Actions don’t effectively cut my limit in half (or in thirds if I had near-identical Dev/Staging/Prod tenants).

Hi @eyablonowitz,

Thanks for reaching out to the Auth0 Community!

I have asked our product team for clarification on the limit to the Number of Production Tenants and Number of Development/Staging Tenants for a B2B Professional subscription plan.

I was informed that the limits are enforced on self-service plans, as shown in the screenshot below: