Custom database create script - gives "missing username" error when testing script

Hello everyone. I am new to Auth0 and wanted to try it as an authentication method for a small web app I’m making.

I am using my own MySQL database and the respective MySQL script template for the Create action.

I’ve made a username required for signing up and have included it as “user.username” in the script to be added to my database.
When I test the script and provide my username, email and password, I get the error “missing username for Username-Password-Authentication connection with requires_username enabled”.

Here is the code where the username is included:

const query = 'INSERT INTO users SET ?';

const insert = {
  password: hash,
  email: user.email,
  nickname: user.username
};

connection.query(query, insert, function (err, results) {
  if (err) return callback(err);
  if (results.length === 0) return callback();

callback(null);
});

Can someone clarify if the message means no username was entered while testing the script, or no username was received as parameter to insert into the database?

When I test my app and try to create an account I get “Something went wrong, please try again later”.

Thanks for your help and suggestions! Let me know if you have any questions.

Hi there @dimitar10000 ,

Can you please test your script when '‘requires username’ is disabled for the Username-Password-Authentication connection and after removing the nickname: user.username from your insert? Is it working?

As far as I remember, the limitation of custom database scripts is that they do not support users.username property.

1 Like

Hey.

Apologies for the late reply. I tried it by removing the nickname field in all scripts, removed it from my database as well.
When I test the create script now it throws a “[SandboxUnhandledError] mysql is not a function” error.

I looked into other posts in the forum, but the solutions don’t seem to work here. I am using this code in the template: