2 applications 1 login

Hi,

I am relatively new to web development and using auth0 hence why I cannot get this to work.

Recently I have secured both our webapplication running an instance of R-Shiny and a wordpress website with auth0. I managed to share the database connection but I would like to see that if you are logged in at one application, you are also logged in at the other application. Given that they share the same client ID/secret and they have access to the same database, how can I make sure that if you are logged in at one application you are also logged in at the other application?

Thank you in advance,

All the best,
Laurence

Hi @TradeCoach

As long as you have a single Auth0 tenant, both applications defined in that tenant, and both applications using the same DB connection, you should get the SSO behavior you are looking for.

John

2 Likes

Thanks John for helping in this one!

Hi John,

Thank you for the quick response!

I have turned off one of the two databases:
![db_auth0|690x170]

Both applications still work (I can login at each application seperately) and when I manually inspect the url when trying to log in on either, the client ID is the same for both applications.

The SSO behavior I am looking for does not occur, I have to login at each application separately.

Perhaps I misunderstand the concept of “single Auth0 tenant”, please correct me if I am wrong, does a single Auth0 tenant imply that they are both registered under 1 application? As in, that they both use the same client ID and secret? I entered the same client id and secret both in the wordpress configuration and the auth0 configuration file for the R application. The wordpress website and the R application are located at two different servers, I am unsure if that is relevant to solve this issue.

I would love to hear how I can go about solving this issue, I am simply unsure where to look and what to google to solve the issues I encounter.

All the best,
Laurence

Hi Laurence,