User accounts between servers and other user questions

Trying to set up SSO using SAML between our app and our tableau server. I believe I read that the user names and passwords have to match between our app, the tableau server and the uses on auth0. Does this mean we need to know all our users’ passwords so we can create matching account on auth0? That doesn’t seem right. Also, we do not use email addresses for our user names. When I set up a user on auth0 it has fields for both email and username. Will username be used for SSO validation? That does not appear to be case sensitive - I added a user with name Demo and it displays in the dashboard as demo. Can this be made case sensitive? Also, I do not want to put my user’s email addresses into auth0 as then they will get a confirmation email and I want the SSO to be behind the scenes to them.

I am very new to SSO, so if someone can educate me on this I would greatly appreciate it.

In SSO between two application imply that the user identity is validated and maintained by an additional system generally referred to identity provider (IdP). This would allow for the following flow:

1. User X accesses App K which asks the IdP to validate the identity of the user.
  2. The IdP validates the identity of the user, for example, by requesting a username and password.
  3. The IdP returns an assertion/token to App K proving the identity of the user.
  4. User X accesses App L which asks the IdP to validate the identity of the user.
  5. The IdP already has an active session for this user so it immediately returns an assertion/token to App L proving the identity of the user.

The above means the user accesses two applications while only having to actively authenticate one time.

In your specific scenario App K is your own application, App L is Tableau server and the IdP will be your Auth0 account. The implementation will then be constrained by what the client application expect: