New user via API - set password flow

We would like to create users from a system, which will eventually make an API call to Auth0 Management API. I’m wondering if there’s a flow possible, where the created user will receive an email that would contain a link with automatic login and force them to set/ reset their password immediately.
We’d rather not generate and send a plain text password to the user by email. What would be the recommended flow here? Thanks in advance.

Hi @adeliab,

To clarify, will you be creating users via the Management API, or will the users be calling your tenant’s Management API?

Here is a guide for implementing an invitation-only flow:

HI @stephanie.chamblee how do I specify query params to use the invite flow of Universal login like it mentions?

Hi @stephanie.chamblee , sorry I’m new with Auth0 so I’m not sure what is the difference between Management API and tenant’s Management API.

The idea is to have an external application calls our custom User API, which will send a request to Auth0 to create the user - with this call Auth0 Management API v2

We don’t want users to sign up by themselves because we need to set the app_metadata when the user is created. From the documentation you sent, it seems possible to create a user first and then send a change password link. Let me have more read and let you know if I have any question.

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi @stephanie.chamblee the mark_email_as_verified parameter in the change password ticket, if it’s set to true - does that mean the email is verified during the ticket generation? or after the user sets the password?

And how can we trigger the sending of invitation email after the user is created?

Thanks for clarifying!

The user’s email will be verified only after they reset their password when mark_email_as_verified is true.