Link React App users to DB with token or user data?

Hello All,

I’m new to Auth0 and I really appreciate the friendliness of this community. I have a conceptual question. I have a React App which uses Node.js and Express on the backend. I am doing my Authentication on the front end using the SPA set up (I hope this is the right thing to do with a front and back end). I want to link my project with a SQL DB but I am not sure what the normal set up is.

My first idea is to have the user login with Auth0 and then use either the token that comes back or the “sub” value on the returned user object as the unique identifier for my DB (not sure if one is better than the other or if a third option would be best). So when ever the user object changes I would have a useEffect hook which would search the DB for either the token or sub and if it finds something in the DB it will return the user data. If it finds nothing it will create an entry.

Is this a typical way to link users with a DB and Auth0? I don’t want to run more queries than neccessary.

1 Like

The value present in sub will be sourced from the user_id property of the user profile in Auth0. This is a stable value that you can use in your system as means to identify recurring users (Identify Users).

The actual tokens issued as part of authentication will be slightly different every time they are issued so you should NOT use the raw token value as an identifier. Instead you need to validate those tokens and then use information within them to identify users and link them to entities in your own system.

Thanks jmangelo! Is Auth0 able to reach out directly to my DB to tell it when to add a new user vs when to pull in the current users data? I am looking for an efficient method to trigger calls to my DB to either add users or get info.