Completely LOST trying to build an authenticated Laravel Backend API

I just want to build an authenticated Laravel API. So I came across the following tutorial:

Publishing package configuration so as to generate configuration file doesn’t work. The context is completely different with the package documentation on GitHub. When I use the following Quick Start guide:
https://auth0.com/docs/quickstart/backend/laravel
The configuration file generated doesn’t indicate environment variables for client ID,Secret and the rest.

I DO NOT understand the use of JSON files generated as indicated on the guide. How can I set the credentials on .env file.

DISCLAIMER: The Backend API sample app provided on GitHub doesn’t work for me. I’ve wasted three days already trying to work with it.

Hey @kenprogrammer :wave:

Sorry to hear you’re hitting some challenges! Glad I spotted your message — I’m an engineer on Auth0’s SDK team, and I wrote and maintain our Laravel SDK and quickstarts for it. I’d be happy to help get you going on this!

The context is completely different with the package documentation on GitHub.

Could you clarify what you mean by context in this case? The guidance should, by all accounts, be identical, aside from the GitHub guidance being more verbose.

The configuration file generated doesn’t indicate environment variables for client ID,Secret and the rest.

The generated JSON file does not explicitly create anything that would be expected to translate to environment variables. Our CLI-based JSON configuration is a simpler alternative to setting up environment variables or editing .env files. The CLI commands generate a JSON-format configuration file. This JSON file contains the relevant Client ID, Client Secret, Domain, and other necessary configuration details. The SDK automatically reads from this file at runtime.

We offer extensive documentation on using the SDK in other configurations. Using environment variables is covered in our Configuration guide.