Auth0 Integration With Heroku

Hi. I am following this guide Auth0 React SDK Quickstarts: Login and my application works as expected on local host. After deploying to Heroku and updating my redirectUri however, I am receiving an undefined server IP could not be found error. Are there any other steps am I missing that are required for Heroku deployment? I found this thread React SPA deployed on Heroku with Auth0 not working which seems to contain my same issue, but I don’t understand the solution. I’m very new to both Heroku and Auth0 so I would really appreciate some help. Thanks.

Hi @pleasehelp,

I’m looking into this now! In order to recreate the error, did you add any environment variable to Heroku or make any changes to the QuickStart code to deploy your app?

Thanks,

Stephanie

Thanks for the reply. My only environmental variables are the domain and client id. Do I also need to add my API audience url?

I’m not getting the same undefined server IP error, but I was able to deploy an example without setting any environment variables: https://sjc-react-example.herokuapp.com/

In the app, I’m just using the auth_config.json file, as I would locally:

{
  "domain": "<YOUR_DOMAIN>",
  "clientId": "<YOUR_CLIENT_ID>",
  "audience": "<YOUR_API_IDENTIFIER>"
}

Something that I was running into while trying to recreate this error is the fact that the QuickStart app runs a React app and API from the same start script. This is a challenge because Heroku dynamically assigns a port to bind to which is accessible with the process.env.PORT variable, and so I’m not sure how to listen to process.env.SERVER_PORT and process.env.API_PORT like it is set up locally.

It looks like there are workarounds for listening to multiple ports in an app deployed to Heroku, but it might be easier to deploy the API separately.