Recovery Passphrase

Hello!

I am an admin at my company using the Auth0 platform who is mostly responsible for handling issues with reseting Two Factor Authentication.

I currently have a user that cannot access the guardian application on their mobile device.

The message we encounter is,

“Seems like the security settings of the device have been changed. In order to protect your information we need to validate your identity. Please enter your recovery passphrase to continue.”

There does not appear to be any other options to change this. I have attempted to change their password under one of our tenants, but that did not work.

I can’t seem to locate and option to reset this passphrase, is there an easy way of doing this or does it require a more in-depth fix?

• Wes

Hi @wesley.behrens,

Welcome!

Have you walked through this doc:

Let me know,
Dan

Dan,

We used the Reset MFA under the method of their MFA.

I’ve attached a screen shot of the reset option.

Are these different forms of resets?

Wes

Yes that should be the same, and it is not working for you?

We did complete that.

This allows them to set up a new instance of Multi-Factor Authentication, but the main issue is with the Guardian application on their mobile device.

The message I posted is on their Guardian application on their mobile device and will not allow for any other options.

They do not remember their passphrase that the application is requiring that they enter to set up a new Multi-factor Authentication connection within the Guardian application.

We used the Google Authenticator application and SMS for our other program, but we would like for them to use the Guardian application for our internal systems.

Regards,
Wes

It sounds like the app has cached a profile. Have they tried reinstalling? If that doesn’t work can you try looking at the app’s properties and make sure all data is cleared.

Let me know,
Dan

Hey dan,