No idea if I'm going the right direction

Hey everyone,

I’m Joost and I am a student at the University of Applied Sciences in Utrecht. I am one of the board members of the Study association. I am responsible for the group developing software. We don’t exist for a long time, so we don’t have a solid base to extend. That’s what I am trying to achieve, a good base that the next generation of that group can continue with that software and create it even more beautiful.

More backstory: We used to have a monolithic C# application. The downside is that C# is only taught at quarter 4 at the second year, and in the third year you are going on an internship, so in reality, you have no C# developers. So that’s how we decided to do microservices. Because that makes the code easier to get and that way we keep our extendability high.

Now the problem:

We are going to have some microservices: A member database (because we need to store all the member data, for promotion and for other purposes. We also are going to have a microservice responsible for job/intern positions, one for the activities we organize, and maybe a blog of some sort.

I already build the microservice for the member database. I built it in Spring Boot, since we get Java taught at school, and it’s fairly easy to get. The only thing I was missing was authentication. I spend 2 weeks staring at ways to create my own identity provider, but I found it was too big for this use case. So I was looking at both Okta and Auth0, I chose for Auth0 for the unlimited applications.