Looking for insight to secure a services-oriented backend architecture

Good evening to all!

TLDR: looking for insight regarding:

• The difference between a regular web app (Applications/Applications/Create Application/Regular Web Applications) and an API (Applications/APIs/Create API),
  • The best way to implement authentication AND authorization in a services oriented videogame backend.

I know this is a lot to read and answer to, but I did quite a lot of research over the past couple weeks and I’m in a little bit of an impass at the moment. I’d appreciate any pointer and/or information really.

The project

After years of experience as a software engineer, I decided to get back to one of my former hobbies: creating games. For educational purposes, I’ve been working recently on a online game project.

I developed a passion for well-designed software architecture and I am having a blast applying that to creating games. I desgined a prototype with a set of basic features, including networking, as a basis for the game. I am currently working on a basic authentication/authorization system, and instead of building everything myself, I decided to use Auth0 as IDaaS.

Connecting a simple Vue.js app to Auth0 with signup/signin with an authentication guard was done in a matter of hours, but I am struggling to find the best way to authenticate users from the game. Bear in mind, I am still a beginner with Auth0, but I’m loving the stack so far.

You’ll find below a simplified version of the game server’s architecture and the connections between components/services. The components are :

• The website (Vue.js): where users create their accounts and profiles (user_metadata),
  • The game clients (Unity, C#),
  • The front server (Node.js + Fastify): API which serves as an API gateway for users, hiding the server’s architecture,
  • The auth server (Node.js + Fastify): API which allows users to connect to the game,