How to implement Auth0 in a database

Greetings,

I’m new to the whole concept of an IDAAS. I hope someone can help me understand how Auth0 works in conjunction with a database.

I know that Auth0 doesn’t recommend storing non-profile user data on its service. Does that mean that in my database, there should be an id field that’s the auth0 user id? Would I need to write another script to sync the creation / deletion of auth0 users with their respective data in my database?

Or is there a simpler better alternative to the above solution?

Update: I found this discussion from someone with a similar question. If I’m understanding it correctly, for the purposes of a Twitter-like application, you can’t go wrong with:

1. Storing only user authentication data with Auth0
  2. Storing all other user data in your database
  3. Joining your user data with Auth0 through the ids provided upon login

With this approach, most of your data will be in sync. The only case you’d have to take care of is the creation or deletion of users in Auth0, which can trigger a corresponding create/delete of user data on your database.

5 Likes

Hi @fandy.
Indeed, Auth0 will return a user ID that is guaranteed to be unique and also to be the same every time the user authenticates with the same method. So you’d use that ID to fetch the relevant business data from your application database.
Whether you need to sync data or not would depend on your business requirements. Auth0 will provide the most current user information every time the user authenticates, but if you need historical data (e.g. previous email addresses or names a user might have had) you’ll need to store them on your app.