Help me get the correct attributes from my existing userbase

Hi, this is my first post here,

I am trying to implement a SSO process for a few regular web apps using SAML 2.0 or ODIC.

The issue i am having is getting user data from one as the JSON file that holds the data does not seem to be editable. I would like to make sure Auth0 stores and hold the first and last name of each user, but i am unsure how to do that.

We have a lot of existing users that i would like to be able to get get UserName, Fname, Lname and Email and be able to pass that to Auth0, but the default Json file doesn’t seem to allow that or i am being dumb somewhere.

If you could help me figure out how to make sure i am getting the right data where I need it, that would be amazing!

Any questions or information you need, let me know as i am still rather new to Auth0 and SSO!

1 Like

Hi @jmaddox

Welcome to the Auth0 Community. It’s great to have you here :slight_smile:

I’m not sure what you’re referring to regarding the json file but if you were using SAML you would need to ensure that your IdP is sending the data that you need in the SAML response, if so it’s just a case of mapping it into Auth0, I did a similar response here which may help you https://community.auth0.com/t/user-profiles-are-not-reflecting-the-current-saml-field-mappings/105914/3

Please let us know if you need anything further.

Warm regards.

3 Likes

Thank you kindly for the response, but I’m not sure if that other solution helps me much. Though i may just be dumb.