Group scope in OIDC?

Hello, I’m new to Auth0, but I’ve certified my OIDC compliant application against Okta and I’m trying to do the same with Auth0. Apologies if this is a commonly asked question,.

Although I’m getting through the OIDC handshake, I’m having trouble getting Auth0 send the “groups” scope. While “groups” may not be part of the OIDC spec, it does seem to be widely used in the industry.

Is there formal support in Auth0 for the “groups” scope? If not, is there a work around? I see that we can add custom attribute/claims, but I’d prefer not to have to change my client code to make additional round-trips and parse out payloads specific to a particular SSO-as-a-service provider. So far Okta and OneLogin seem to honor the “groups” scope.

Any advice? Thanks

Hello @cdodge,

For attributes that are not part of the standard scopes, you can add custom claims to your token using rules. You can see an example at the link below:

1 Like

You can also use the authorization extension to configure groups, roles, and permissions in Auth0. In the extension configuration, you’ll see a Dashboard that has some options as follows:

This feature is included starting in the Developer pricing tier.

2 Likes

Thank you Kim,

I added the Authorization Extension and now I’m at the point where if I “try” the rule that was generated by Authorization Extension in the Rule editor it works (I see the groups I mapped by user to in the extension), but still on the /UserInfo response after OIDC handshake, it’s still missing.

Is there something left to do to map it to the output on the UserInfo OIDC response?

Also, the response on the Rule tester is different (but similar in some ways) than what I see from my OIDC based called to UserInfo, so it seems like there’s some intermediate mapping going on.

Thank you again very much for your help