Authorization Extension - Groups not in JWT

Hey guys, I’m working on a project to setup a server for my university. It contains a user system (for which I’m using Auth0) where I need to be able to put users into different groups and access that information on my client. I tried solving my problem for 5 hours now, but nothing seems to work. Please keep in my mind that my background is not professional, I would be very glad if you could help me. I’m using Nodejs for my server, accessing auth0 with passport.

Problem:
The requested idToken does not contain the users groups.
I tried:
Scope: I wrote groups in the scope, nothing changed. I keep it there, because I don’t know if it matters for the token. EDIT: Deleted groups in the scope like @kim.maida told me to.
Changed the authorization rule as written in other threads about similar problems. It now looks the following:

// ….
// Update the user object.
    user.groups = data.groups;

const namespace = 'https://mydomain.com/claims/';
    context.accessToken[namespace + 'groups'] = data.groups;
    context.idToken[namespace + 'groups'] = data.groups;

// Store this in the user profile (app_metadata).
    saveToMetadata(user, data.groups, data.roles, data.permissions, function(err) {

return callback(err, user, context);
    });
// …

Now, when trying the rule with my test user, I get the following output:

{
  "https://mydomain:com/claims/groups": [
    "Optimierung",
    "Admin"
  ]
}

Instead of

{}

Still, there was no change in the issued idToken.

I also tried other small things, but I can’t remember all of them. Hopefully you guys can help me, I’m growing very desperate.

Edit: I am not using OIDC Dynamic Application Registration.

Hello @mowolf! Some users have been experiencing issues with Rules not being called: Rules are not being called - #23 by c.kapplmueller. Looking at your code (which looks good), it seems that this may be your issue. We’re working hard to resolve it!