Google cloud functions - auth0

Hello.

I’m working on an application. The application have to be implemented using google cloud functions (on node10) and, at least for beginning, it should use free tier of auth0, which basically prevents me from using single-page approach with Lock library. I would prefer to implement it on “server” side with Universal Login.

Is there some kind of library to help me with this approach? Do you have some recommendations? Whole concept of stateless and cloud computing is something new to me and I’ve never done anything like this before.

Thanks for your replies.
S.

Hi @inas,

Welcome to the Community!

We have quite a few quickstarts that help you work through adding authentication to most common frameworks and languages.

If you want to narrow things down to a node/express app there is really only one option for the quickstarts, this one.

Also, being free tier shouldn’t stop you from using a SPA if this is a good solution for your application, or lock (although I wouldn’t recommend going with lock unless you need it for some reason, the new universal login makes everything very simple and easy to set up).

As for the serverless component, we have some resources but I can’t find much specific to google cloud functions. Do you have specific question about it?

Hi, thanks for reply.

I cannot use node/express tutorials, as a GCF user, I cannot add middleware (well, I can pretty easily use passport or other libs by calling passport()(req, res), but that’s not really good approach :slight_smile: ).

Right now, I’ve implemented oauth using “openid-client” library, hovewer, I’m in doubt mainly for security reasons (like verifying state variable, which I cannot store on (stateless) server).

If I would like to make a SPA, how can I use universal login?

@inas,