Dotnet core 2.1, mvc, webapi and angular 6 sample project

Newbie here to Auth0 and OpenId Connect. Briefly, my experience with built-in .net identity or WS-Fed, are the extent of my “security” or IDM experience. I’ve been unlucky to have those pieces in place and mature = no dev experience.

I’m having difficulty migrating from the dbo.AspNetxxxx tables and the built in views that .net provides to manage users and roles, etc. In the past, to customize the AspNetUsers table I implemented my version of IdentityUser and this was easily available after updating the views accordingly.

So the project asks are:

1. Use an IDM service
  2. The app will be composed of aspnet core MVC, angular 6, and a secured WebAPi.

I’ve found many useful samples in Auth0 Samples · GitHub but they only address 1 or 2 of the areas I need. Are there any KBs about wrapping everything in the asks. Trying to Frankenstein 3 separate sample projects is a little much.

Sorry, there’s no code but it’s based off this sample: https://github.com/auth0-samples/auth0-aspnetcore-mvc-samples/tree/master/Samples/oauth2.

Pardon, this a very loaded post.

So, compared to what you did in the old days, if you were building a regular web application today that uses Auth0 as the identity provider you would end up with something similar to WS-Federation, except that now you would use the OpenID Connect protocol (OIDC):

• Session in the web application is, as usual, handled by a session cookie. So after the user authenticates, the application creates a cookie (either stateful or just a reference to a session stored somewhere).