"config.json file is missing"

Hello all!

I’m new to Auth0, so please be gentle :slight_smile:

We’re trying to use a custom template for our universal login. We created a custom domain, but when I run auth0 universal-login templates update, I get an error config.json file is missing.

Any thoughts on what could be going wrong?

Thanks in advance!
John

1 Like

Hi @vex,

Welcome to the Auth0 Community!

I understand you have experienced an error when trying to update your Universal Login page template.

After my investigation, I was not able to reproduce the same errors as you when using the Auth0 CLI.

When trying to call auth0 universal-login templates update, I got the unknown command "universal-login" for "auth0" error message.

From my experience, the config.json file is only needed for the Auth0 Deploy CLI and not the Auth0 CLI. Typically, you would make a request that would look something like the following:

a0deploy import -c=config.json --input_file=local/tenant.yaml

With that, could you please clarify if you are trying to update the Universal Login page templates on the Auth0 CLI or Auth0 Deploy CLI?

I look forward to your update.

Thanks,
Rueben

1 Like

Hi Rueben, thanks for the quick reply!

Our ultimate goal is to hide Sign Up for some applications (but not others) in our tenant. We’re referencing an answer from this community post, which references the Universal Login Auth0 documentation.

One thing that confuses me is that the documentation says to use the auth0 branding command, but the Auth0 CLI tool doesn’t have that command (I’m referencing commands listed under “Available Commands”), and instead has auth0 universal-login. Do you know what’s going on?