Authenticating user from hardcode (config) username and password

Hello there, I’m new to Auth0 but I’ve read a lot of documentation in the last few days. Still, I can’t find a clear way to do what I’m looking for, which looks very simple to me, but I must be missing the point.

As the title implies, I have a username and password in configuration (server-side only) and would like to connect the user behind these credentials to Auth0. The main point is to be able to read and update the user-metadata.
For now, I assume that using a username-password pair would be the best way to do it, but maybe I’m wrong and there a better way to create an account for a server?

If you wonder why I need an account for my server, it’s simply that this server will be installed in our customer places. Each of our customers will be a different person/entreprise and need a proper account to be able to exchange with others.
To be absolutely clear, this is a machine-to-machine scenario, I cannot have a login screen or callback uri. I just mean to call one or more endpoints and receive the information I need.

Is this possible? Maybe I should use another approach?
Thx in advance to the community :slight_smile:

Hello @mgoulet,

Welcome to the Community! It sounds like you want the Client Credentials flow. You create M2M client in Auth0. authorize that client to access the associated API (management API with read:users scope in this case), and use the client ID and client secret in your app to talk to Auth0.

This could get complicated if you are deploying the software to many locations.

Thank’s for the reply :smiley:
Do I have to use the secret? This is a bit of a problem in my case.

Pretty much … you need some sort of authentication. Of the available flows, client creds is the one that fits your model. Client creds is used whenever a server / service needs to talk directly to an authorization server without a user involved.