Why does the token change when private key is entered in verify signature?

Hi. I’m new to JWT and have been generating them with command line after receiving a key pair from a company whose api I need to integrate with. Their requirements for their token signature are specified as RSASHA256(
base64UrlEncode(header) + “.” +
base64UrlEncode(body),
“<your_public_RSA_key>”,
“<your_private_RSA_key>”
). Their docs say they only want the JWT signed with the private key, as seems typical, so my last command line is SIGNATURE=$(openssl dgst -sha256 -sign <(echo -n “${PrivateKey}”) <(echo -n “${HEADER_PAYLOAD}”) | openssl base64 -A | tr -d ‘=’ | tr ‘/+’ ‘_-’ | tr -d ‘\n’ )