What is the advantage of JWK over just the public key (stored as a PEM)?

I am new to Auth0 and not terribly knowledgeable about JWT.

Assuming I already have an (RS256) access token returned by Auth0.

On the server, I would now like to verify the token.

To verify the token, I need to use my application’s public key. From what I understand, I can attain this public key a few different ways:

• I could download the public key from Settings :arrow_right: Show Advanced Settings :arrow_right: DOWNLOAD CERTIFICATE
  • I could use a JWK library which, based on data encoded in the access token, knows to fetch the JWK from https://DOMAIN.eu.auth0.com/.well-known/jwks.json via an HTTP request (and, optionally, cache it)

It seems like Auth0 encourages users to use JWK, but what are the practical benefits? I read the Auth0 documentation but unfortunately, I am still unclear.

I am specifically curious why libraries like express-jwks fetch the data from https://DOMAIN.eu.auth0.com/.well-known/jwks.json and, in many cases, temporarily cache it. Is this purely for convenience?

In my case, I am intending to deploy my code as an AWS Lambda function. I am new to this technology as well, but due to the stateless nature of cloud functions, I don’t expect I can cache the JWK easily. In that case, would it make sense to fetch the JWK with each auth request? Surely there must be an upside to justify this; otherwise, I could simply store the public key locally as a PEM?

Thank you for taking the time to read my question.

Hi @bookercodes. I can think of three basic advantages of using the JWKS:

• It’s an OIDC standard (including the /.well-known/jwks.json path), which means that many OIDC libraries can assume that the information will be there and do all the work of getting the keys for you.