Use Auth0 only for social logins + have already existing username+password login at the same time

Hi,

I am no developer, so apologies in advance for some stupid questions. I just want to understand the general possibilities before I go to my developers. Thanks!

We have web application that has our own username + password login and we already have users there. Active user has valid e-mail as username.
We want to enable users to log in via social media additionallty. Auth0 seems the be easiest to do so as we do not need to implement every social media separately.

1. Is it possible to use my own username + password with Auth0 social login methods at the same time?
  2. Does Auth0 need to know about my own login method something additionally? For example user has already account in our application (username = e-mail aadress) and now wants to use Google as additonal login method. We do not need to have a new account for that user, if the user already has same e-mail registrered in our application (via username + password). Does this solution needs to have the Auth0 “external database” option set up?
  3. Is it possible to use my own login page and just have social media icons what will open (or direct) to selected social media login. (so no need to have auth0 own loginpage inbetween) Does this just means we will use Auth0 API?

The biggest questionmark for me is how to use the already existing login info in our own application with social media logins via Auth0.

Thank you already in advance!

Hi @mihkel,

Welcome to the Auth0 Community.

I understand you need some clarification on your authentication flow with both Social and existing username/password logins. I would be glad to assist you.