Token lost after refreshing spa

Hi, I am new using auth0

Two days ago, I started playing with the spa provided in the quick guide.

I added some connections, created new components that I could pass data to, and modified the api to be able to manipulate the data provided by the token.

The problem is that now I’m trying to implement it in my own project. I set up the authprovider, all the necessary configuration and stuff.

I created a new connection with google using my keys and id.

I use both projects, mine and the one given as example using the same configuration, both added to the dashboard.

Mine loses the token on refresh, but the other one works fine and only asks for a new login after 24h.

The connection works fine on both, returns the token and can be used without problems as long as it is not refreshed.

I can’t find what I’m doing wrong or where is the bug. If both have the same configuration, they should work the same and one should not lose the session and the other not.

Hi @Jopax,

Welcome to the Auth0 Community!

I understand that you’re seeing different session behavior from two apps that sound fairly similar. The first thing I’d check is if you’re using the same scopes in both, more specifically are you using the offline_access scope in both?

I hope this helps!

Thanks,
Matt

1 Like

Hi @matt.g ,

In the end the problem was that I did not have the callback configured correctly.

Now the problem is that following the documentation, with this code should validate the token:

const validateAccessToken = auth({
issuerBaseURL: https://${process.env.AUTH0_DOMAIN},
audience: process.env.AUTH0_AUDIENCE
})

It should work in the backend, but I get the following error in the library express-oauth2-jwt-bearer

AssertionError [ERR_ASSERTION]: You must provide a ‘tokenSigningAlg’ for validating symmetric algorithms at jwtVerifier

Any idea why this is happening? I have tried to put the keys that appear in the profile but I get a different error.