Signature Invalid when signing with JWT.NET

Hey,

I am currently struggling with creating signatures with any .net library to access Twitch api endpoints. The jwt.io page always says the signature is invalid when I copy paste my generated jwt there. When I edit the secret the signature is obviously adjusted and when I use the adjusted jwt I can make the Twitch api call without a problem. When I use my generated jwt I always end up with a 401 authentication failed.
I tried pretty much all of the .net libraries now and all of them generate a wrong signature for HS256… I am not sure what I do wrong since I am new to JWT and couldn’t find anything that points me to the right direction. Here is my code to generate the jwt using the jwt.net library (GitHub - jwt-dotnet/jwt: Jwt.Net, a JWT (JSON Web Token) implementation for .NET). Would highly appreciate if someone could help me with this.

var payload = new Dictionary<string, object>
        {
           { "exp", DateTimeOffset.Now.AddSeconds(360).ToUnixTimeSeconds()},
           { "user_id", "668312333"},
           { "role", "external"},
        };
        var secret = Encoding.UTF8.GetString(Convert.FromBase64String("MY SECRET"));

IJwtAlgorithm algorithm = new HMACSHA256Algorithm(); // symmetric
        IJsonSerializer serializer = new JsonNetSerializer();
        IBase64UrlEncoder urlEncoder = new JwtBase64UrlEncoder();
        IJwtEncoder encoder = new JwtEncoder(algorithm, serializer, urlEncoder);

var token = encoder.Encode(payload, secret);
1 Like

Hi @hypnotic,

Welcome to the Community!

Are you supposed to create your own tokens for the twitch endpoints? Typically you would request the tokens from Twitch’s Auth server.

That is what their docs say at least…

Hi @dan.woda

Thank you for your quick answer and your welcome, appreciate it!