Should I be validating JWT on my back-end with or without secret?

I’m using the express-oauth2-jwt-bearer Node.js package on my back end to validate an Auth0 JWT passed to it from the (separate, SPA) front-end, like so:

const { auth } = require('express-oauth2-jwt-bearer');
auth({
	audience: process.env.AUTH0_API_AUDIENCE,
	issuerBaseURL: process.env.AUTH0_API_DOMAIN
});

This is how the package’s docs suggest you do it. However, the same docs then give a further example, for tokens signed with " symmetric algorithms", where a secret is used in the validation, like so:

auth({
    issuer: 'https://YOUR_ISSUER_DOMAIN',
    audience: 'https://my-api.com',
    secret: 'YOUR SECRET',
    tokenSigningAlg: 'HS256',
  })

So do I need the first approach, which doesn’t use secret, or the second, which does? I’m quite new to JWT. I just want to know that I’m doing this securely.

Thank you!

Hey @kkrp1 !

Great question! It depends on which algorithm you’re using to sign tokens (you can check in your application settings → advanced → oauth tab as well as in your API settings)- Typically this will be RS256 which is asymmetric, won’t include using a secret, and is generally considered more secure. HS256 is symmetric and requires a secret. Some further resources on this topic:

Hope this helps to clarify!

Aha yes it is set to RS256 (actually, it won’t let me change this, even if I wanted to) so I’m all good and secure, then, by the sounds of it.

I’m still getting my head around JWTs! Trying to understand how it can be secure, if secrets aren’t involved. Just to double-double-check, this is what I’m doing:

Front-end, using JS SDK:

const auth0Client = await createAuth0Client({
	domain: '<my-auth0-domain>',
	clientId: '<my-auth0-client>',
	... //bunch of other config here
})

Back-end, to validate the JWT passed to it by the front-end:

const { auth } = require('express-oauth2-jwt-bearer');
module.exports.validateJwt = auth({
	audience: '<auth0-api-identifier>',