Securing a REST APIS without UI front

Hi community, I am pretty new to OAuth and Auth0 in general.

Our team has a web application that produce data via REST API, that application doesn’t have a UI, users and downstream services invoke the API URL directly to get the data.

Our company has an okta supported authentication platform and OAM and LDAPs
Our new requirement is to secure the application and user/service identification as to who/what accessed the API, most importantly the what(service) since those can just invoke the API without any OAM injected headers for us to verify, in future we will also need to secure some API based on group of user/services access right(role), the application was written in java with spring boot, we tried to stay away from rolling out own authentication/user account/pass management.

Am I right that to say in my case, both the service and actual human user who invoke the endpoint is both the client application and resource owner since there is no end-user authorization needed.

What would be the best approach to adapt a appropriate framework to achieve this?

Thank you.

Hi @zying,

Welcome to the Auth0 Community!

It sounds like you are planning on registering multiple machine to machine connections. If you want to register clients programmatically, that can be done using the Management API v2. Otherwise you can manually register clients through the auth0 dashboard.

If you are planning on having users log in to an account where they register their own applications then you will have to have some UI and user authentication layer on top where a user can go and get their client id and secret. Otherwise it will more or less just be registering M2M connections.

A lot of this depends on how you are planning on setting up your clients, manually, self-service for users, or otherwise.

Take a look at these links for some more info about M2M and client credentials grants: