Salesforce Named Credentials to Authorize to Auth0

I’m a Salesforce developer new to Auth0. I’d like to understand how best to configure my connection from Salesforce into Auth0.

We’re currently using Auth0 as the IDP for M2M tokens so Salesforce can hit other integrations in our ecosystem.

I’d like to use Salesforce Named Credentials to manage the endpoint and credential configurations for Salesforce to make requests into Auth0.

I have not seen any documentation in the Auth0 Docs that reference this use case specifically. I am not setting up a Connected App.

Hey @jlyon welcome!

I’m not going to be answering your question directly mainly because I don’t know what Salesforce Named Credentials is, but there are overall two basic integrations with Salesforce that I see:

• Salesforce uses Auth0 as an external identity provider to authenticate users. So every time Salesforce needs to authenticate a user, it redirects the user’s browser to your Auth0 domain with a SAML authentication request. On the Auth0 side you can configure any number of connections (sources of users). This is usually used to integrate your company’s directory (e.g. Google Suite, Azure AD, or any other) and other sources with Salesforce and put any required transformation logic in the middle (by using rules). This integration is described here: https://auth0.com/docs/integrations/sso/salesforce

• Auth0 uses Salesforce as the identity provider. In this scenario your apps are connected to Auth0 (they use Auth0 to authenticate a user) and Auth0 connects to any number of connections. One of them is Salesforce, so users can authenticate with their Salesforce identity into the apps. This scenario is described here: https://auth0.com/docs/connections/social/salesforce

Hope that helps a bit. Maybe someone more familiar with Salesforce Named Credentials can provide more insight here.

Thanks Nicolas.