OIDC Discovery Document Customization

I’m a developer working on integrating authentication with auth0, and am using some OpenID Connect schemes and patterns in my code. Particularly, I am pulling the OIDC discovery document that is hosted by auth0, and validating that my application is configured correctly, according to what this document provides. My application is using a custom scope, let’s say “foo”, however that scope does not appear in the list of supported scoped by the .well-known/openid-configuration file and therefore fails my validation where my configuration is cross referenced with the document.

Is there a way to be able to customize that document in my auth0 tenant such that this validation may succeed? I’ve looked and can only seem to find documentation how to use other providers’ OIDC discovery document in my auth0 app, but not how best to consume and customize my auth0 tenant’s document

Hi @adambullmerltk

Welcome to Auth0 Community !!!

.well-known/openid-configuration is an open id standard URL exposed by Authorization server (Auth0) to validate JWT token against standard claims. This URL exposes standard scopes and not the custom scopes such as foo. Custom scopes get validated on resource server side by a piece of code you write using a library or SDK. May I ask:

• Which SDK or library you are using in your application ?
  • What error you are getting when validation fails ?

Thank you
Jeff

1 Like

Which SDK or library are you using in your application

the library in question is nuxt-auth specifically their OIDC scheme. It will pull the oidc configuration, and validate that config against the configuration of the authentication method to validate that client app is setup correctly

What error you are getting when validation fails ?