Newbie question: Which OAuth 2.0 Flow?

Hello community!

I am wondering which Auth0 2.0 Flow is suitable for our application.

What i found so far is, that there are

• Client Credentials Flow
  • Authorization Code Flow
  • Resource Owner Password Flow
  • Authorization Code Flow with Proof Key for Code Exchange (PKCE)
  • Implicit Flow with Form Post

My candidates are

• Authorization Code Flow
  • Resource Owner Password Flow

But as a newbie, I am not sure. I even may miss something?
I would appreciate any advice to find a proper flow for our application.

The application consists of 3 parts: Front end, REST - API and Database

1. Front end:
Just HTML, CSS, Javascript, running in a HTTP Server.
The front end calls a REST - API via Ajax calls to get data.

2. REST API
Java REST API managed by the Spring Framework with Spring Security 5, running in an application server.
Called by the front end. Provides data to the front end.
Calls the database.

8. Database
Stores the user information (including passwords)

Current authentication: The user adds the credential (username, password) to an HTML page and submit them via Ajax to the REST API. If successful, the REST API returns an access token, which can be used for further requests to get data from the API (see picture).

I hope the description of the application is sufficient to find a suitable flow.

Thank you very much!
Marcus

hi @gehring and welcome to the Auth0 Community! :tada:

Judging from your description it sounds like your application most closely aligns with our concept of a Regular Web Application where most of the application logic is happening server side.

In that case I believe the Authorization Code flow would be our recommendation for OAuth 2.0 flow. I can see how the Resource Owner Password flow could also make sense, but it would be our recommendation if possible to stick to a flow that allowed your application to be free from handling sensitive info such as users’ passwords etc.