New to Auth0 - some basic questions

Hi everyone,

I’m new to Auth0. I have a front-end app and a back-end API, running on different domains.

1. If a user logs in to my site via the browser, I get a code back in the query string of the callback. The docs say I should resolve this to a token. Should this be done on the client, or should the code be sent to a back-end endpoint and the request to retrieve a token done there?

2. Having got the token somehow, I presume I should send that token to any and all requests to my back-end API. My API would then have to fire a request to Auth0 to validate the token i.e. check the user is logged in and that the API request is legal. Would I have to do anything special in Auth0 settings to enable this check from a separate domain other than that registered under my Auth0 application, or can this request come from anywhere, provided it’s sent with the Auth0 account credentials?

3. I don’t want users to be able to sign-up freely. Only users in my own DB can login. How do I tell Auth0 to check that DB when deciding whether a login request is allowed?

Many thanks in advance!

Hi, @kkrp1

1. on a client
  2. client gets an ID token, then you can use it to get an access token from Auth0. you can use this access token for your API. if you are using react SDK, there is a method getAccessTokenSilently. ref.: Auth0 React SDK Quickstarts: Call an API
  3. there is a way to disable sign ups, Authentication → database → disable sighn-ups
1 Like

Hey @kkrp1 welcome the community and Auth0!

We’ve got a bunch of quickstarts to help get you up and running with sample apps quickly. Additionally, I find our architecture scenarios docs very helpful as a high level overview.

In addition to @Tetiana’s responses:

1. Most Auth0 SDKs provide methods for accomplishing this - It may be helpful to check out 1 of our many quickstarts.