JWT/Access token is not invalid when I think it should be (using client credentials flow)

I am new to auth0, and have been reading a bit and experimenting a bit. Let me just outline what we are trying to do

1. We want to have a .NET WebApi (REST endpoint) that we use Auth0 to provide auth for
  2. We would like to call this NET WebApi (REST endpoint) from some other code we write (C# .NET code)

This seems to be a good fit for the “Client Credentials” flow as described here : Client Credentials Flow

So what I did was the following

• I have registered our Custom API in the “API Details” portal and downloaded a sample app from Auth0 website “WebAPIApplication” which makes use of JWT token
  • I have also seen that a machine to machine application was created
  • I then went into the Custom API and grabbed the Domain/ApiIdentifier and updated the settings in my .NET WebApi (REST endpoint) project to use that
  • I then used some code to get the token based on the C# code in the “test” tab of my API project
  • This was able to give me an access token, which I could then use to test my .NET WebApi (REST endpoint)

All good so far

• I then went into API Settings, and change the Token Expiry to 5 seconds. I made sure this was reflected in the code that fetches the token from Auth0. It was could clearly see it had expires_in = 5.

Which I obtained using this C# code

var client = new RestClient("https://dev-68vt-2k4.eu.auth0.com/oauth/token");
var request = new RestRequest(Method.POST);
request.AddHeader("content-type", "application/json");
request.AddParameter("application/json", "{\"client_id\":\"Oi5lEI......R8LEgW\",\"client_secret\":\"mI3...........8Cj6huSpUp\",\"audience\":\"XXXXXX\",\"grant_type\":\"client_credentials\"}", ParameterType.RequestBody);
IRestResponse response = client.Execute(request);

Where you can see that the token I got from the following code reflects the 5 seconds expiry