'isAuthenticated' in React Native SDK?

Hi, I am quite new to Auth0 but have successfully implemented it in a React SPA project. I am now working on a React Native app and cant seem to find out how to check a users authentication state…

For example with the React SDK I can access ‘isAuthenticated’ which allows me to render the UI after a user returns to the app at a later date. With React Native, every time the app is closed and re-opened (or refreshed when debugging) the user is taken back to the login page (initial page of the user flow).

Is there a way to check auth status in react-native-auth0 SDK like with @auth0/auth0-react SDK so that on re-launch of the app the user is not prompted to login again?

Hi @jon7 and welcome to the community! :tada:

This is a common situation people run into with the React SDK. The React SDK should automatically silently auth the user after a page reload, but some things can go wrong. There a brief FAQ about it here: auth0-react/FAQ.md at 05866c0caae6a56f03142c81302e7ec66bf165e3 · auth0/auth0-react · GitHub

You should review that and let me know if you still have the issue.

1 Like

Hi @thomas.osborn thank you for your response, I have checked the link and it mentions React SPA JS… my question was more around React Native SDK (GitHub - auth0/react-native-auth0: React Native toolkit for Auth0 API)?

Ah, sorry @jon I should have read your post more closely.

I discussed this with the SDK team and this does not exist in the React Native SDK.

However, it also brought up some larger issues with the isAuthenticated function in the first place, and it sounds like the SDK team is going to work to decide what the behavior of isAuthenticated should be.

Right now, in the React SDK, isAuthenticated check if the is an ID token, it is not expired, and there is an access token. Then it stores this as a boolean in a prop.