Is it possible to use the Auth0 db and a custom external db to store user data at sign up?

Ready to post? :mag: First, try searching for your answer.
Hi I just started trying to set up Auth0 instead of AWS Cognito for a project as Cognito was very cumbersome I found.

I was wondering if its possible to have new user signups automatically go to my external MongoDB while also having them stored in the Auth0 DB too at the same time? Im guessing its possible by calling one of the management APIs and passing the user object data to my DB after a new sign up on the client side, but I was wondering if it was possible to have this happen automatically via the dashboard, my understanding was that as regards the dashboard management of user data db stores I had to choose either between using the built in Auth0 DB or my own custom one and not both? I hope my question makes sense, Im still new at this so apologies, thanks very much.

Hi @david.doyle7 ,

The common scenario is that users are authenticated against the external database credentials and during the first (after integrating with Auth0) login, being migrated to the Auth0 hosted user pool (called here Username-Password-Authentication).

The process is called Lazy migration and is described here - please take a look and let us know if you have further questions :slight_smile:

Thanks so much for the reply @marcelina.barycka . So after a login attempt auth0 checks against my external db first and if the user is not there it will create a new user in both the internal and external db? I hope i have it correct, thanks. My circumstance is that I have no users at present but each time one is created i need to it be in auth0s db and my mongoDB if that makes sense. I was hoping after a signup the user data would propagate to MongoDB from Auth0 or vice versa.

Thanks for clarifying @david.doyle7.