How to get API (MVC) authenticated from token generated by an Angular SPA?

Hi I am pretty new to Auth0 and work has asked me to integrate Auth0 to the project. Project is very simple and is classic Angular 2 SPA with C# MVC API.

I have created/download an Angular app from quickstart and it is successfully generates id_token in the local storage after I login with my account.

Second step is I have downloaded sample(preconfigured with my domain and client credentials) C# MVC API. I can access the public methods in controller via postman but when I try to access Private (Authorize) decorators on method I get the message Authorization denied. I am passing the id token appended with “Bearer” in front for Authorization in the header but it keeps denying access.

Could please someone help me or guide me of what should I pass? I have tried both the RS256 and HS256 still it cannot get valid token.
Many thanks in advance

1 Like

Do you have access to server logs? It’s hard to debug this without knowing why the server denied access in the first place.

Couple of additional questions:

• Are you using a custom domain?
  • Did you use jwt.io to verify the contents of the JWT match what the server expects (things like sub, aud and iss?

Thank you so much for your reply.
In the server logs I have a log which says “successful login” which is correct because that is the default SPA that connects to Autho0 to get authenticated and returns token. But then there are no other logs after that.

Are you using custom domain?
I am not sure what is custom domain. I am just using what the Auth0 registration process created. In my case it is [myhomelibrary.au.auth0.com]
I did use jwt.io to verify and it is decoding all the contents correctly and getting following contents:
{
“typ”: “JWT”,
“alg”: “RS256”,
“kid”: “NDZCRDBGMjZBRjg2OTlDNERDNDg0RUUxMzE4N0Q4OTQzQTQ4QzgyMQ”
}

Payload data is

{
“iss”: “https://myhomelibrary.au.auth0.com/”,
“sub”: “auth0|5b629b31868fba2c7e6234c3”,