How to access currently logged in user in node as server with SPA as client

Hi. I’m new to auth0 and been reading a lot and done most of the tutorials that includes (vue and node as server)

Also, this vue quickstart is awesome to follow along. Everything went smoothly.

I’m trying to create a SPA game that enables users to trade, craft and have inventory of items.

My questions are

• Say, I wanted to post a newly crafted item on /api/craft/. How should I access the currently logged in user on the server side (node)? req.user does not contain the user profiles.Tho there’s a way to get the user on /userinfo endpoint. How should I approach this? Should I always get the user on /userinfo every time I need user’s info? Or should I just include the user from SPA to my server as part of the payload?

• When getting a access_token, it can be accessed by auth0Client.getTokenSilently, should I just use it every time I need a token? Or should I store the access token on localstorage since it can’t be hidden.

Please let me know your thoughts

@joeygate,

Welcome to the Auth0 Community Forum!

The user_id should be available in the access token. You can get the profile from /userinfo on the SPA side, then send the relevant user data as part of the payload, or you could call the userinfo endpoint from your API. This will likely come down to what data you need and when. If you are already calling the userinfo endpoint from the SPA then you could save yourself the second call by adding the data to the payload.

We recommend that you do not store the token in localstorage. You should have the token in memory while the SPA is active, then you should use getTokenSilently when the SPA is refreshed/reopened.

Let me know if you have more questions.
Thanks,
Dan

Thank you for the response. More clearer now.

One more thing, just need some validation from someone