How permission and scope interact with my custom API, Auth0 Management API, and my client?

Hi, I’m totally new to Auth0 and authentication.

I’d like to ask is there anyone or any good resource that can explain how permission and scope interact with my custom API, Auth0 Management API, and my client?
I feel it’s an extremely basic question and I’ve tried to read some documentation in Auth0 and community but still can’t figure out the answer.

To be more specific, I’m not sure are permission and scope act like a verbal agreement and my custom API will check if the scope name provided my client matches the API’s permission?
In other words, can I set whatever permission name I want (e.g. create:bughaha), as long as my react provides the corresponding scope name (e.g. provide “create:bughaha” when I try to get the access token) then that client has the authority to use my /api/v2/?

I’m sorry that the question is blurred but this is the best I can do so far.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Hi JT,

Welcome to the Auth0 community!

To be more specific, I’m not sure are permission and scope act like a verbal agreement and my custom API will check if the scope name provided my client matches the API’s permission?
In other words, can I set whatever permission name I want (e.g. create:bughaha), as long as my react provides the corresponding scope name (e.g. provide “create:bughaha” when I try to get the access token) then that client has the authority to use my /api/v2/?

Can you explain how the Management API is related to your Custom API and client?

You can just think of the Management API as any other API, with an audience of https://{tenant-name}.auth0.com/api/v2/ and a proprietary list of scopes.

Hi, thank you for the prompt reply.

I’m not sure but I think my Auth0 Management API only related to my React. Custom API seems like an independent thing.
I’m using @auth0/auth0-react and started with the Single Page Application.