How do I get user information and tie it to stuff in my application

I know this maybe a stupid question but I am new to Auth0. Lets say If I was to make a e-commerce site. How would I tie the user stored in Auth0 to their stripe Id. How would I also have a order tied to a user stored in Auth0. On tutorials I have seen , it just shows users being able to login and do anything as long as they are logged in. But how would I make it so a user could only do a certain thing under their name like only post certain things and have that post stored under that user. Or if it was an e-commerce site have there orders stored under their profile.
For example if I had users stored in my database I could access there info from my database and have there orders stored in a order table connected to users. How would I do this in Auth0.
thanks in advance ,
jay

You won’t want to store order information in Auth0. Information stored in user_metadata and app_metadata should ideally be identity and authorization related data only, maybe with demographic stuff in user_metadata. Auth0 does not replace the need for an application database. Rather, Auth0 is the glue between your Identity Providers / identity repositories and your applications & APIs. (Auth0 can also be your identity repository as well if you like)

The usual model is: you have some concept of roles stored in a user’s profile, say a list of assigned roles stored in app_metadata.roles: []. You can then feed the list of roles to an application by adding the roles list to the user’s token. It is then up to your application to interpret the roles list and allow / deny access as appropriate.

You could store a user’s Stripe ID in metadata as well. Whether you should and how you would do it depends on your use case.

2 Likes