How can i trust the token?

Hello,

I hope you have a bit of patience for some, perhaps, silly questions.

Despite being a software professional several years, i have never been part of setting up auth. This has always been a functioning part of any backend i have worked on.

But now that i am working on a hobby project, it is just me - and i want to get it right.

My (intended) setup:
Web frontend - undefined language, perhaps react, blazor/wasm or razor pages
Backend - One frontend facing api. Perhaps several other services behind that.

I would like the user to be met with a login page if not logged in otherwise presented with the UI.

Since i am a backend dev, i started looking at the api part, and followed this:

It seems to work, and i get rejected as expected. But should there not be something to validate the token that is recieved. Is this really it?
Meaning, if my frontend redirects to a login, and send the resulting token - this would be trustworthy without me doing extra stuff?

I would expect to need to make a call somewhere to ensure the token is valid.

I would also like any other services behind the frontend facing api to be able to double check a token. E.g was it “cancelled” since the request was started.

Hi @Toudahl,
Welcome to the Auth0 Community!

Happy to learn that you want to understand what happens behind the scenes :muscle: Looks like you are a classical or pragmatic developer :slightly_smiling_face:

The Quickstart you read is about using ASP.NET Core, which hides a lot of work. The JwtBearer middleware actually validates the access token without requiring any explicit intervention on your side. If you want to learn more about JWT validation in .NET, you can read this article.

I hope this helps.

1 Like

Thanks a lot for these resources, they answered my questions. I was having trouble finding what I needed in your vast documentation.

I liked your blog on the different types of developers.