Help understanding Auth0: SPA do you need the custom API?

I’m relatively new to Auth0. I’m building a classical SPA app (Angular) with a server (Node).

Authentication is actually working with Auth0, but I don’t understand the roles of the API’s section of the dashboard. Do we need a custom API (currently we have one)?

My understanding is like this:

• Connections (sources of users)
  • Applications (we have 2, the server and the SPA)
  • Mangement API (control Auth0 related stuff)
  • Authentication API (login and obtain tokens)

But do we need custom APIs - they are part of many of the tutorials?

I noticed that I can login in the SPA without specifying an “audience”, but if I specify the “audience” (the name of the custom API) I get a different token (the access token is longer)?

Can someone help me understand “audience” and “custom API” in this setup?

Thanks so much :slight_smile:

I agree that the docs could make it a lot more clear of the different roles and when to use them. I think I can clarify one thing though. When you specify the audience you get a JWT instead of the “random string” (an opaque token) as token. If you take this JWT and paste it into jwt.io debugger you can see what’s actually “in” the token. The payload/claims. Your custom API can also verify these claims to determine if the user has access to the resources its requesting, check if the token has expired etc.

If you only have an opaque token it’s not much your custom api can do with it. The token only has any meaning when sending it to auth0’s API’s.

Hi @durre - thanks for your answer.

Ok, but what is the purpose of the custom API then? Is it only a question about where you verify the claims?

And in the classical example where would you recommend the server to verify the claims (custom API or Management API or Auth0 auth API)?