Express, redirecting to /profile url after login, I'm completely stuck!

Hi everybody,

I’m new to auth0 so I figured I would start with the express quickstart guide to get started, and that’s working fine, I understand what it’s doing (or at least I think I do), and I’ve got my app running on localhost:3000 with and it works as expected.

The problem I’m having is trying to extend it further. What I’m attempting to do is to have it so that once a user finishes logging in they are redirected to localhost:3000/profile

Where I’m at right now is, I’ve got the “express-openid-connect” set up for the login page and the “express-oauth2-jwt-bearer” set up for JWT handling with the API.

My current code can be viewed on github here.

I’ve been googling around for a while and have tried a few different things, none of which seem to work, although this is probably more about me doing it wrong than the methods not working!

I’ve tried:

Using an Auth0 action

Adding in a post instruction for “/callback” because I can see after a login it makes a post to “/callback” and then a get to “/”

app.post('/callback', express.urlencoded({ extended: false }), (req, res) =>
  res.oidc.callback({
    redirectUri: 'http://localhost:3000/profile',
  })
);

Adding a route to the config so that it reads:

const config = {
  authRequired: false,
  auth0Logout: true,
  baseURL: 'http://localhost:3000',
  clientID: 'CLIENT_ID',
  issuerBaseURL: 'BASE_URL',
  secret: 'SECRET',
  routes: {
    callback: '/profile'
  }
}

No matter what I’ve tried it returns to “/” after the login is completed, nothing I do seems to make the post request actually trigger or do anything!

Can somebody please help me because I’m absolutely losing my mind on this!

What am I missing?

Thanks!