Confusion over flow for multi-instanced SPA+API

Hi there. I’m new to federated auth so pardon my ignorance.

My situation is like this: a SPA+API which I will call–as a whole–the App. This App is actually deployed/instanced per user (think Wordpress).

I thought I would get an access token from auth0 with the SPA (frontend/js). Then the SPA would send the API (server backend, nodejs) the access token for every request. The API would use its secret to validate the token with auth0, and if valid, would return a 200 response. Is this accurate?

As for getting a secret, it sounds like I will need to use auth0’s Management API to dynamically create… something (an app plus API? or just one?) for each deployment/instance. Is this the case? Or can I simply add to the callback URL whitelist for one app since they are instances of the same app?

You are correct about the first part. You wouldn’t get the secret via Management API though.

To verify an access token, there are two ways to approach it, or two algorithms we support, HS256 and RS256. We recommend to use RS256 though, which works asymmetrically using public/private key concept; especially when there is no way to securely store a secret on the client side (SPA).

When you talk about secret, you are then probably referring to the HS256 approach. Here are the docs and blog post that describe the two approaches.

1 Like

Thanks! I think I get it… So for my SPA+API, once my API gets the token (JWT), my API will verify the JWT the SPA sends with every request according to the link you attached which I think says uses my tenant’s JWKS. Correct?

To do that last part, it looks like I need to configure both the SPA and the API in the dashboard. But for my situation where I dynamically deploy new instances for every user, does that mean I have to use the Management API to add each new instance’s URLs (callback, origin, etc) to the whitelist for the SPA?