Auth0 custom authentication flow

Hello, guys! I’m quite new to Auth0 and I have several things that I want to implement

1. I want to add username field to sign up window, so than user can have three text fields (username, email, password)
  2. I added third-party smtp server in order to sent OTP to user, but I want to use it instead of Auth0 magic email verification link. How can I do that? I created Email Provider and put inside smtp server credentials. What should I do next?
  3. I want to create some next window in authentication flow, where user can put otp which he will receive on email.
  4. I want to create such authentication flow, in which user can login with his email&password OR username&password. How I could implement such thing?
    Guys, would be grateful for sharing any information about questions above!

Hi @yaroslakladko

You can enable usernames in your database connection. When usernames are enabled, users log in EITHER with a username or an email, both work. When registering, users MUST provide both.

Your SMTP server should be set up, as you describe it.

I would suggest using our built in OTP MFA to achieve better security. Using an email OTP does not provide much additional security - it is not a true second factor but is a reuse of a first factor. True MFA is better.

John

@john.gateley, thanks for your answer! I’ll try now to configure, as you have written, and will reply with result!

@john.gateley I enabled usernames in my database connection and it works! Thank you! I enabled MFA with phone OTP and Twilio. This also works during login and sign up!

I want to build such SIGN UP flow, where user enters his username, email and password (have this done with your hint about usernames in db connection) → then confirms email OTP BUT only first time, when he is signing up → then he confirms phone OTP (I have it done with MFA) and after that he can be authenticated.