Adding Roles based on signup Link

Hey everyone, I have to excuse myself before saying anything since I am not technical and being chat gpt my only technical help I could say stupid things or have a stupid problem!

I have a MERN app and I had implemented an action to add a role to the user post first login to every user that signed in. Now though I need to differentiate between two roles, I would like to have a way for which if someone is leaded to the signup page through one link he is given “Role1” after signup and if he comes from another link he is given “Role2”. Is this possible?

I know the question is probably very vague but this is as far as my technical explanation skills go, thank you in advance to anyone who can help!

Hi @nocivo,

Thanks for reaching out Auth0 Community!

While exploring your interesting use case, I conducted some research. What I discovered is that you can potentially use query parameters in your URL and capture them in Auth0 actions. However, I couldn’t find relevant documentation for this approach.

Alternatively, I experimented with another method. Consider treating your two different URLs as distinct applications in Auth0, each with its unique client ID. By utilizing event.client.client_id, you can dynamically fetch the client ID of the application from which the user originated. Subsequently, through an if condition based on the client ID, you can employ api.user.setAppMetadata() to define the user’s role. I successfully added roles to app metadata based on users arriving from two different applications (in your case, two different applications in Auth0 represent your URLs). While there might be a simpler solution, I’ll keep you informed if I come across one. Please reply in thread if you find any easier solution that will help others in community! Thanks!

Regards,
Pavan

Hi @pavan.bn, thank you so much for the response!