Get User Data Server Side - what is a good approach?

First of all: thanks for Auth0! I’m new to it and using it has been fantastic.

I presently puzzling together what the best way to plug Auth0 into my new application should be. I’ve been busily reading the docs for some time and I think I have an idea of how things are supposed to hang together. I wanted to express them here in the hope that you could say “yup, that’s the way to do it” or “no, no, no, STOP!”

Here’s my setup:

• Client app is a React SPA which will use Lock to obtain an access token from Auth0.

• It will talk to an ASP.NET Core application to obtain data, customised for the authenticated user using the access token.

What this means is, I need to be able to identify a user from an access_token. I’ve learned from reading the docs that passing an id_token is not the done thing. So that’s cool. The question is: how do I identify which user I have from the access_token?

I understand from the docs that it’s possible to take an AccessToken and get profile data by making a call to Auth0 and passing the token along; like so:

var domain = _config"Auth0:Domain"];
        var apiClient = new AuthenticationApiClient(domain);
        var userInfo = await apiClient.GetUserInfoAsync(accessToken);

Now that’s great; but naturally I don’t want to call Auth0 on each API call. Looking at the Claims my ASP.NET Core app receives when the access token is passed I can see that we get a sub claim (also called http://schemas.xmlsoap.org/ws/2005/05/identity/claims/nameidentifier ). This includes a value that looks like this: auth0|1234567890andon. Questions that arise:

1. Does sub uniquely identify a user? My guess is “yes”. (This seems to suggest that is so: Scopes )
  2. Is sub a reliable way of identifying a user in the long term? Does a user have a single sub which is assigned to their email address? Again, my guess is “yes”.