Using profile information in app

Hello, auth0 community! I am somewhat new to coding, trying to figure out auth0 and I need some help implementing what I assume is a fairly basic functionality thing in my angular/typescript app:

I need to know how to get access to the “sub” value that contains the user id from a logged-in user so that I can do some logic with it in my app. I only need to read this value I don’t need to modify it in any way.

I’ve followed this: Authentication & Authorization in Angular with Auth0 | ng-conf & Auth0 | #ngconf - YouTube tutorial to set up the user authorization and they also do some things like putting {{user.name}} and {{user.sub}} in the html, and that all works fine. I don’t seem to be able to access these user values in the logic in my ts file, however.

My ts file looks like this, by the way:

import { Component, OnInit } from ‘@angular/core’;

import { AuthService } from ‘@auth0/auth0-angular’;

@Component({

selector: ‘app-profile’,

templateUrl: ‘./profile.component.html’,

styleUrls: [‘./profile.component.css’]

})

export class ProfileComponent implements OnInit {

profileJson: string = null;

constructor(public auth: AuthService) { }

ngOnInit(): void {

this.auth.user$.subscribe(

(profile) => (this.profileJson = JSON.stringify(profile, null, 2))

);

}

}

So, as you can see I DO have access to the profile in the profileJson variable, and I can make that display in a “pre” html tag, but I don’t know how to actually extract any of those values for use in logic. Im not certain if I’m even supposed to get them from the profileJson value, in fact.

I’ve tried a few things I thought might work, but with no success. Please someone let me know the process for accessing this value in my app.