# Social connection account not fully deletable

**URL:** <https://community.auth0.com/t/social-connection-account-not-fully-deletable/59181>\
**Category:** Get Help\
**Tags:** social-connections\
**Created:** [March 10, 2021, 11:41am UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/social-connection-account-not-fully-deletable/59181 "2021-03-10T11:41:05Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 4\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![waltervandenhouten](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/waltervandenhouten/32/13750_2.png) [@waltervandenhouten](https://community.auth0.com/u/waltervandenhouten)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2021, 11:41am UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/social-connection-account-not-fully-deletable/59181/1 "2021-03-10T11:41:05Z")

</div>

When registering on our platform using a social connection from Auth0.  
A new user is created (even if an account already exists for the associated email address)  
(Why they’re not automatically linked is a topic for a different time…)

When send a request to delete the account (or delete it from the Auth0 dashboard), the account is deleted. Logging in again however restores the account. The MFA connections are still there, the access logs are still there, and even MFA sessions of ‘remember me for 30 days’ are still active.

The deletion should be permanent, and all information should be disassociated.  
Is there a way to do this without writing a bunch of custom scripts to artificially reset the account before deletion?

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![dan.woda](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/dan.woda/32/18340_2.png) [@dan.woda](https://community.auth0.com/u/dan.woda)\
**Post date:** [March 10, 2021, 11:15pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/social-connection-account-not-fully-deletable/59181/3 "2021-03-10T23:15:32Z")

</div>

Hi @waltervandenhouten,

> [@waltervandenhouten](#):
>
> Logging in again however restores the account.

Can you DM me a screen capture of this happening? I don’t experience the same behavior and would like to confirm steps to reproduce. A deleted user shouldn’t be restored.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/original/3X/b/5/b560f266932fcce5d57f09a6595bd50518cae3f3.jpeg) [@system](https://community.auth0.com/u/system)\
**Post date:** [April 27, 2021, 9:09pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/social-connection-account-not-fully-deletable/59181/4 "2021-04-27T21:09:35Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 15 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![rueben.tiow](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/rueben.tiow/32/11646_2.png) [@rueben.tiow](https://community.auth0.com/u/rueben.tiow)\
**Post date:** [June 26, 2023, 5:28pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/social-connection-account-not-fully-deletable/59181/5 "2023-06-26T17:28:42Z")

</div>

Hi all,

Just sharing a solution mentioned in [this FAQ](https://community.auth0.com/t/delete-a-social-connection-user/89878).

Thanks,  
Rueben
