# Ramifications of deleting Username-Password-Authentication?

**URL:** <https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739>\
**Category:** Get Help\
**Tags:** automatic-migration, user-management\
**Created:** [November 20, 2025, 5:48pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739 "2025-11-20T17:48:03Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 5\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![joaquinvaldezhs](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/joaquinvaldezhs/32/71424_2.png) [@joaquinvaldezhs](https://community.auth0.com/u/joaquinvaldezhs)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2025, 5:48pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739/1 "2025-11-20T17:48:03Z")

</div>

Hello! I am wondering if delete my **Username-Password-Authentication** database (in the Danger Zone), what I can expect to happen to my Application, Forms, Triggers and Actions? Should also click the toggle “Applications using this connection” before deleting? So my Application isn’t being used by the database any longer? Thank you!

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![remus.ivan](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/remus.ivan/32/68771_2.png) [@remus.ivan](https://community.auth0.com/u/remus.ivan)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2025, 7:41pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739/3 "2025-11-20T19:41:04Z")

</div>

Hello @joaquinvaldezhs,

By deleting the **Username-Password-Authentication** database all users and functionality relying on that specific username/password database will cease to work, so the best practice would be to first navigate to the database connection’s settings and disable it for all applications listed under the “Applications using this connection” tab.

May I also ask what would be the reason for completely deleting the database ? I am asking this since the difference between disabling the default database for specific applications and deletion is significant:

- **Disabling** : Removes the connection option from the application’s login flow but retains the database and its users (in case you need to re-enable it later)
- **Deleting** : Permanently deletes the connection and all associated user data (users who only existed in that database). This action is irreversible.

As far as how different functionalities of your tenant will be affected it is expected that:

- Any application that is enabled for this connection will immediately lose the ability for users to log in, so any existing user whose account was stored in this deleted database will no longer be able to authenticate via username/password.

- If your application is configured to use other connections (like social logins, enterprise connections, or a different database connection), users who use those methods will be unaffected.

- General \*\*Triggers/Actions/Flows **will continue to run** , as they are activated by the event of _successful authentication_, but this depends if you are already using another database connection ( since otherwise actions such as Post-user-Registration will not take effect )

I hope this helps, and if you have other questions please let me know!  
Thank you,  
Remus

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![joaquinvaldezhs](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/joaquinvaldezhs/32/71424_2.png) [@joaquinvaldezhs](https://community.auth0.com/u/joaquinvaldezhs)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2025, 7:55pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739/4 "2025-11-20T19:55:52Z")

</div>

Thank you @remus.ivan ! Ideally, I wish I easily could clear the users in my data connection. I have 6k users defined and deleting them manually would take a while.  
Disabling means click the toggle for My Application? And if I disable the database I could create a new one?

Thanks,  
Joaquin

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![remus.ivan](https://sea1.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/user_avatar/community.auth0.com/remus.ivan/32/68771_2.png) [@remus.ivan](https://community.auth0.com/u/remus.ivan)\
**Post date:** [November 20, 2025, 8:16pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739/5 "2025-11-20T20:16:28Z")

</div>

Hi @joaquinvaldezhs,

You are welcome and thank you for your clarification!

> [@joaquinvaldezhs](#):
>
> Disabling means click the toggle for My Application?

That is correct! It means disabling the applications that are connected to your current database.

> [@joaquinvaldezhs](#):
>
> And if I disable the database I could create a new one?

This is also true!

Either by disabling or deleting the current database, you will be able to create a new one for your following user store, it is just that by not deleting it you will not completely lose the users’ record, just in case.

Here are the steps for [Setting Up Database Connections](https://auth0.com/docs/get-started/applications/set-up-database-connections#enable-the-connection).

Hope this helps!  
Best regards,  
Remus

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![system](https://global.discourse-cdn.com/auth0/original/3X/b/5/b560f266932fcce5d57f09a6595bd50518cae3f3.jpeg) [@system](https://community.auth0.com/u/system)\
**Post date:** [December 4, 2025, 8:17pm UTC](https://community.auth0.com/t/ramifications-of-deleting-username-password-authentication/194739/6 "2025-12-04T20:17:22Z")

</div>

This topic was automatically closed 14 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.
